Skip to main content

This website uses cookies to make the website simpler.

Find out more about our privacy policy. Ok

Nominations open for the ‘Tlws y Tiwtor’ Welsh tutor award 2023

Nominations open for the ‘Tlws y Tiwtor’ Welsh tutor award 2023

Nominations are open for the ‘Tlws y Tiwtor’ Welsh tutor award 2023.

The award is given by the National Centre for Learning Welsh to a tutor who is making, or has made, a significant contribution to the Learn Welsh sector.

The trophy will be presented at the Maes D Welsh learners’ village at the National Eisteddfod of Wales, Llŷn ac Eifionydd on Saturday 5 August and the winner will be invited to be present at the ceremony.


Do you know an inspirational and influential tutor who’s worthy of Tlws y Tiwtor 2023?

To nominate a tutor, please fill in the following form electronically or print and post the form to us specifying the following information:

  • Why are you nominating this person?
  • What’s special about the person?
  • How have they inspired learners and/or other tutors?
  • Note three words to describe them

The application form is available on this page and the closing date for nominations is 30 June 2023. If you have any questions, please contact


Since the Llanelli and District Eisteddfod in 2000, a trophy has been awarded to a tutor in the Learn Welsh sector, in memory of Elvet Thomas and his wife, Mair Elvet Thomas. During his time as a teacher at Cathays High School, Cardiff, Elvet inspired generations of students, the majority from non-Welsh speaking homes, to learn the language fluently. He established an Urdd youth club in the school in the 1920s and fully embraced the Urdd’s activities during that time.  

A word from Helen Prosser

Helen Prosser, Director of Teaching and Learning at the National Centre for Learning Welsh, said: “The National Centre for Learning Welsh’s trophy for Tutors is an opportunity to acknowledge an outstanding contribution made by an individual. Tutors are vital in the learning process and often go the extra mile to ensure their learners are encouraged to learn and use the Welsh language. We’re very grateful to Rhiannon Gregory and the late Havard Gregory for sponsoring the trophy in the past and the Centre wants to continue with the good work by awarding a new trophy”.

Previous winners of the Elvet and Mair Elvet Thomas Memorial Trophy

A number of tutors have received the trophy over the years. Here’s a list of the previous winners:

Llanelli and District 2000 - Chris Rees

Denbighshire 2001 - Basil Davies

Pembrokeshire, St Davids 2002 - Felicity Roberts

Montgomeryshire and the Marches 2003 - Robina Ellis-Gruffydd

Newport and District 2004 - Geraint Wilson-Price

Eryri and Region 2005 - Elwyn Hughes

Swansea and District 2006 - Elwyn Havard a Keith Rogers

Flintshire 2007 - Eirian Wyn Conlon

Cardiff 2008 - Cennard Davies

Meirion and District 2009 - Shirley Williams

Blaenau Gwent and Heads of the Valleys 2010 - Ken Kane

Wrexham and District 2011 - Gwilym Roberts

Denbighshire and District 2013 - Pam Evans-Hughes

Anglesey 2017 - June Parry

Cardiff 2018 - Helen Williams

Llanrwst 2019 - Haydn Hughes